Diver's Paradise (A Roscoe Conklin Mystery #1) (Hardcover)

Diver's Paradise  (A Roscoe Conklin Mystery #1) Cover Image
$26.95
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Why do people close to Roscoe Conklin keep showing up dead—and on the paradise island of Bonaire?

After 25 years on the job, Detective Roscoe Conklin trades his badge for a pair of shorts and sandals and moves to Bonaire, a small island nestled in the southern Caribbean. But the warm water, palm trees, and sunsets are derailed when his long-time police-buddy and friend back home, is murdered.
    Conklin dusts off a few markers and calls his old department, trolling for information. It’s slow going. No surprise, there. After all, it’s an active investigation, and his compadres back home aren’t saying a damn thing.
    He’s 2,000 miles away, living in paradise. Does he really think he can help? They suggest he go to the beach and catch some rays.
    For Conklin, it’s not that simple. Outside looking in? Not him. Never has been. Never will be.
    When a suspicious mishap lands his significant other, Arabella, in the hospital, the island police conduct, at best, a sluggish investigation, stonewalling progress. Conklin questions the evidence and challenges the department’s methods. Something isn’t right.
    Arabella wasn’t the intended target.
    He was.
 
Perfect for fans of Randy Wayne White's Doc Ford and Robert B. Parker's Spencer 

About the Author


Davin Goodwin is a graduate of Arkansas State University and works in the technology industry. He has been a small business owner, a real estate investor, an aerial photographer, a flight instructor, a semi-professional banjo player, and—important to Diver’s Paradise—a scuba diver, often seen on the island of Bonaire. Diver’s Paradise is his debut novel and he intends to continue writing the Roscoe Conklin series, set in Bonaire. Goodwin lives in Madison, Wisconsin, with his wife, Leslie.

Praise For…


“[Diver’s Paradise is] a fun and heady combination of suspense and intrigue that appeals to the underdog in us all. It definitely delivers what readers crave.”—Steve Berry, New York Times best-selling author


Diver’s Paradise starts off with a bang and never lets up! A fantastic Caribbean mystery that will appeal to fans of Randy Wayne White. The ultimate beach read for those for who love sun, sand, and turquoise water!”—Ward Larsen, USA Today best-selling author


“Cops don’t retire to laid-back Bonaire to be targeted for murder, but Roscoe Conklin is the exception. With the grisly murder of his former partner back in the States, Conklin finds himself tangled in a web of lies, deceit, killings and mistaken identity. And all he wants to do is play his banjo on the porch. Tightly written, Goodwin’s debut novel captures the relaxed, easy going life in Bonaire, then shatters it with explosive energy. You won’t put this book down till the last page!”—Don Bruns, USA Today best-selling author


“[Diver’s Paradise is an] impressive debut and series launch. Fans of John D. MacDonald’s Travis McGee will look forward to seeing more of Conklin.”—Publishers Weekly


“Detective Roscoe Conklin’s retirement to the Caribbean paradise of Bonaire is shattered when his old partner is murdered. His attempts to investigate the killing lead him down a convoluted and dangerous path where his own life is at stake. Diver’s Paradise is a fast-paced and engaging thriller that will linger long after the final page.”—D. P. Lyle, Macavity and Benjamin Franklin Award-winning author


“[Diver’s Paradise is] a dazzling debut thriller that grabs you by the throat with spell-binding action from the first page – and never slows down. Davin Goodwin has created a fascinating character in Roscoe Conklin, a retired cop living in an island paradise who can’t escape the deadly secrets from his past. The bodies soon begin piling up, along with one stunning plot twist after another. Highly recommended!”—R. G. Belsky, author of the award-winning Clare Carlson series


Diver's Paradise had me hooked from the first pages, from its opening in snowy Rockford, Illinois to the sunny beaches of an island in the Caribbean. Roscoe Conklin, or R, as he's known, is a totally likable and engaging protagonist whom I can't wait to revisit in the next one. Davin Goodwin is a major new talent.”—Michael A. Black, award-winning author of Blood Trails


“Make room at the table with Child, Grisham, and Coben. Davin Goodwin's debut novel Diver's Paradise is a stay-up-all-night page-turner in the best traditions of the American thriller.”—Renee James, author of Seven Suspects


“A deftly crafted and pitch-perfect mystery novel by a master of the genre.” —Midwest Book Review
Product Details
ISBN: 9781608093830
ISBN-10: 1608093832
Publisher: Oceanview Publishing
Publication Date: April 7th, 2020
Pages: 336
Series: A Roscoe Conklin Mystery